edit a video with STMPE time that doesn't start with00:00:00

Don't know how to do something? Having issues running the program? Please post here.

edit a video with STMPE time that doesn't start with00:00:00

Unread postby doremama » Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:39 am

Hi,

I am very new to Aegisub and I need a last minute help on this issue

So my video displays time in STMPE and the video starts in the middle (if you know what I mean, the STMPE stamp is not 00:00:00:00, instead, it starts at 00:04:00:00 - so the time set of the video and timeline on the aegisub aren't sync)

- I can't simply just put the time number in because the video time displays in hh:mm:ss:ff while in aegisub it is hh:mm:ss:cc
- Is there a way that I can use dummy video for 4 minute and then put the real video after the dummy video in the same timeline? does aegisub has function to put two video on the same timeline?)
- is there other ways? please I have been trying since 8am this morning :'( :'(
doremama
Comic Sans MS
Comic Sans MS

Re: edit a video with STMPE time that doesn't start with00:0

Unread postby jfs » Mon Apr 03, 2017 3:06 pm

If you will be exporting to the EBU STL format for the final deliverable, the STL export has a feature specifically for program start time (time code offset), that will add whatever time code you specify to all the subtitles. So you could specify 00:04:00:00 as time code offset, and all your subtitles created for a video starting at zero would now match the program.

For other formats than STL, you would have to shift the subtitles before saving/exporting for the deliverable. You can use Timing > Shift Times to shift all the subtitles forward by the appropriate amount.

In both cases, you would initially produce the subtitles as if the program started at 00:00:00:00.
Do not PM me asking for help with Aegisub, Automation, karaoke or anything like that, I won't reply.